Ressources Communities



Francophones in Saskatchewan are known as Fransaskois. The Fransaskois population is established in many cities and towns located throughout the central and southern parts of the province. More than 50% of Fransaskois live in the province’s three largest cities: Regina, Saskatoon and Prince Albert.  A total of 17,735 members of the Fransaskois community report French as their first official language spoken, and more than 51,800 people in Saskatchewan can carry on a conversation in French.

The Fransaskois flag was created and adopted by the Fransaskois community in 1979. It was later recognized as an official symbol of Saskatchewan in 2005.

Le drapeau fransaskois a été créé et adopté par la communauté fransaskoise en 1979, ce drapeau a par la suite été reconnu parmi les symboles officiels de la province de la Saskatchewan en 2005.

Organization representing the Francophone population

The Assemblée communautaire fransaskoise (ACF) represents the Fransaskois community. Its mandate is to support the community’s development, speak on its behalf and increase the visibility of French in the province. The ACF was founded in 1912 and has played a leading role in establishing French‑language institutions and services in Saskatchewan. The vision of the Fransaskois community is to secure a future where Fransaskois of all ages can be proud of their identity, fully develop in their language and culture, and contribute to the development of the Francophone reality in Saskatchewan and Canada.

The ACF provincial secretariat is located in the provincial capital of Regina. The ACF also has several satellite offices, in Moose Jaw, Ponteix, Gravelbourg, Saskatoon and Bellevue. The ACF is responsible for coordinating the network of Fransaskois associations and institutions, promoting Saskatchewan as an immigration destination and supporting the development of the association network.


The Fransaskois community sees Francophone immigration as a way to ensure its sustainability and renewal. Through the Service d’accueil et d’inclusion francophone (SAIF-SK), the ACF’s objective is to promote cultural diversity in Saskatchewan and work in partnership with other immigration stakeholders to facilitate the settlement of Francophone newcomers to Saskatchewan. A number of services are offered, such as welcoming newcomers at the airport, helping them find housing, enrolling their children in school, obtaining government services, and more.


Saskatchewan is located in west-central Canada. The province boasts an expansive sky and a varied landscape ranging from the Great Western Plain to the Canadian Shield to the Boreal Forest. Known for its large-scale grain farming, the breadbasket of Canada invites visitors to follow its historic hiking routes, the same ones that were used by Métis and First Nations Peoples. Camp, dive into the cool, pristine waters of the lakes, take in the sunsets and the northern lights under the starry sky—these are just some of the experiences Saskatchewan has to offer.

Immersion in French as a second language

The vast majority of school boards in Saskatchewan offer French immersion programs, with such programs available in 77 schools. French immersion is offered at various levels in the curriculum. Immersion programs are open to all students, regardless of mother tongue. Enrolment begins in junior kindergarten. The goal of French immersion programs is to give students the opportunity to become functionally bilingual, work in both of Canada’s official languages, be open to differences and appreciate the diversity of cultures.